stop buzzing around.

Posts tagged ‘awards’

Glimmer Train Contest Deadline Approaches

Deadline: August 31, 2009


  • 1st place wins $1,200, publication in Glimmer Train Stories, and 20 copies.
  • 2nd-place: $500 and possible publication.
  • 3rd-place: $300 and possible publication.

Reading fee: $15 per story.

Results post on October 31, 2009. Winning story will be published in Issue 77.

Other considerations:

  • Open only to writers whose fiction has not appeared in any print publication with a circulation over 5,000. (Entries, of course, must be unpublished.)
  • Stories not to exceed 12,000 words.

Make a Submission


2009 Mythopoeic Award Finalists Announced

MythopoeicAwards-thumb-550x265-18543The cover-art alone just makes us drool.

The winners of this year’s awards will be announced during Mythcon XL, to be held July 17-20, 2009, in Los Angeles, Calif.

The nonprofit Mythopoeic Society promotes fantastic and mythic literature, particularly the works of J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis and Charles Williams, all of whom belonged to the informal Oxford literary circle known as the “Inklings.”

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult LiteratureCarol Berg, Flesh and Spirit and Breath and Bone (Roc)
Daryl Gregory, Pandemonium (Del Rey)
Ursula K. Le Guin, Lavinia (Harcourt)
Patricia A. McKillip, The Bell at Sealey Head (Ace)
Gene Wolfe, An Evil Guest (Tor)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

Kristin Cashore, Graceling (Harcourt Children’s Books)
Neil Gaiman, The Graveyard Book (HarperCollins)
Diana Wynne Jones, House of Many Ways (HarperCollins)
Ingrid Law, Savvy (Dial)
Terry Pratchett, Nation (HarperCollins)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

Gavin Ashenden, Charles Williams: Alchemy and Imagination (Kent State, 2008)
Veryln Flieger and Douglas A. Anderson, eds. Tolkien on Fairy-Stories: Expanded Edition, With Commentary and Notes (HarperCollins, 2008)
John Rateliff, The History of the Hobbit, Part One: Mr. Baggins; Part Two: Return to Bag-End (Houghton Mifflin, 2007)
Michael Ward, Planet Narnia: The Seven Heavens in the Imagination of C.S. Lewis (Oxford, 2008)
Elizabeth A. Whittingham, The Evolution of Tolkien’s Mythology: A Study of the History of Middle-earth (McFarland, 2008)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

Charles Butler, Four British Fantasists: Place and Culture in the Children’s Fantasies of Penelope Lively, Alan Garner, Diana Wynne Jones, and Susan Cooper (Children’s Literature Association & Scarecrow Press, 2006)
Jason Marc Harris, Folklore and the Fantastic in Nineteenth-Century British Fiction (Ashgate, 2008)
Farah Mendlesohn, Rhetorics of Fantasy (Wesleyan University Press, 2008)
Marek Oziewicz, One Earth, One People: The Mythopoeic Fantasy Series of Ursula K. Le Guin, Madeleine L’Engle and Orson Scott Card (McFarland, 2008)
Richard Carl Tuerk, Oz in Perspective: Magic and Myth in the Frank L. Baum Books (McFarland, 2007)

Intrigued?  Find out more about The Mythopoeic Society and it’s Members here.

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: